Events 2019

Please contact Catherine if you would like her to speak to your group. 

Australian events
 
Thurs 14- Sat 16 February 2019: ‘Globe-trotting Girls and “Strumpets” on the Stage: Female Performers in 19thC Australasian Theatres’ at the 'Transferring or Transforming Performance?: Theatrical Touring and the 19th Century' Colloquium Australian National University, Canberra
Thurs 28 February 2019: 'Business as Usual? Investigating Women and Enterprise in Australian History', Seminar at Centre for Workforce Futures, Faculty of Business and Economics, Macquarie University
Friday 15 March 2019: '"A Man Is Not a Plan": 19C Widows and Business in Australasia' at Women's History Group, Institute of Historical Research, University of London
Wednesday 21 March 2019: Joint Seminar with Dr Jennifer Aston, International History Seminar Series, Northumbria University, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, UK
Thurs 4 - Fri 5 April 2019: 'Urban Heritage: Resurrecting Nineteenth-Century Businesswomen in Australasia’s Towns and Cities' at Urban History Conference, Belfast, Ireland
Fri 5 - Sun 7 April 2019: 'Turning the World Upside Down: Gender, Business and Women’s Rights in Australasia' at Economic History Conference, Belfast Ireland
Tues 16 - Wed 17 April 2019: 19C Female Entrepreneurs from a Global Perspective Workshop (co-convenor)
Fri 21 June 2019: Arthur Baillie First Fleeters, Gordon, Sydney
Wed 26 - Fri 28 June 2019: Society for the History of Childhood and Youth Conference, Sydney
Mon 8-Fri 12 July 2019: Australian Historical Association Conference, Toowomba 
Mon 15 July 2019: 5.30-6.30 pm Dubbo Library 
 
Thurs 22 August 2019: Hawkesbury Seniors, Windsor, NSW
Tues 27 August 2019: Seminar panel, School of History, Macquarie University, Sydney
Wed 28 August 2019: Upper Blue Mountains View Club, Leura, NSW
Tues 17 September 2019: Seminar, Centre for Workforce Futures, Macquarie Business School, Sydney
Fri 27 September 2019: Guest speaker, 'Dangerous Conversations', National Trust Dinner, Old Government House, Parramatta.
Screen Shot 2019-07-12 at 10.52.03 am.pn
New Zealand Book Tour
  for more info about these events please contact Catherine
Tuesday 1 October, Otaki
       7.30 pm, Otaki Historical Society, Rotary Lounge, cnr Iti & Aoraki Sts, Otaki
 
Thursday 3 October, Whanganui
        5.30-7 pm, Official Book Launch by Elinor McDouall, Space Studio & Gallery, Taupo Quay, Whanganui
Tuesday 8 October, Nelson
         5.30 pm Nelson Provincial Museum,Trafalgar and Hardy Streets, Nelson
 
Wednesday 9 October, Hokitika
         5.30 pm, Westland District Library (with Take Note Books), 20 Sewell St, Hokitika
 
Thursday 10 October, Greymouth
         5.30 pm, Grey District Library, 18 Albert St, Greymouth
 
Tuesday 15 October, Arrowtown
         6.30 pm, Lakes District Museum, 49 Buckingham Street, Arrowtown 
 
Wednesday 16 October, Invercargill
          7 pm, Southland Genealogy Society, Invercargill Public Library, 50 Dee St, Invercargill
 
Tuesday 22 October, Dunedin 
         5.30 pm, Toitu Museum 31 Queens Garden, Dunedin
 
Wednesday 23 October, Oamaru
         6 - 7 pm, Oamaru Public Library, 62 Thames St, Oamaru
 
Thursday 24 October, Timaru
         2 pm, South Canterbury Museum, Perth Street, Timaru
 
Friday 25 October, Ashburton
         11 am, Ashburton Museum, 327 West Street, Ashburton
 
Tuesday 29 October, Christchurch
         6 pm,Canterbury Museum, Rolleston Ave, Christchurch
 
Wednesday 30 October, New Plymouth 
         5.30 pm, Puke Ariki Taranaki Research Centre, level 2, 1 Ariki Street, New Plymouth
 
Friday 1 November, Whanganui 
         2 pm, U3A St Andrew’s Church, 42 Glasgow St, Whanganui
 
Wednesday 6 November, Auckland
         6 pm Auckland Central City Library 44-46 Lorne St, Auckland,
 
Thursday 7-Friday 8 November, Auckland
         Association of Australian and New Zealand Historians in Business Schools Conference, Auckland University of Technology (registered conference partipants only)
 
Saturday 9 November, Auckland
         11 am, Highwic House  ($10 entry fee to house)
 
Sunday 10 November, Hamilton
         1 pm, Waikato Museum, 1 Grantham Street, Hamilton
 
Monday 11 November, Hamilton
         1 pm, Gender Research Network, lecture theatre S1.01, Waikato University, Hamilton
 
Monday 11 November, Cambridge
         7.30 pm: Cambridge Society of Genealogists Community Centre, 22a Taylor Street, Cambridge
 
Tuesday 12 November, Thames
         5.30 pm, Carson’s Bookshop & Gallery, 600 Pollen St, Thames
 
Wednesday 13 November, Tauranga
         1 pm,Tauranga City Library, 91 Willow St, Tauranga
 
Thursday 14 November, Taupo
         5.30 pm, Taupo Library, Story Place, Taupo
 
Friday 15 November, Napier
         5.30pm, MTG Hawkes Bay, 1 Tennyson St, Napier
 
 Sat 16-Wed 20 November: Whanganui
         Time and date to be confirmed
 
Thursday 21 November, Palmerston North
         6 pm,Bruce Mackenzie Booksellers, 37 George Street, Palmerston North
 
Friday 22 November, Masterton
         6 pm, Wairarapa Library, 54 Queen Street, Masterton
 
Sunday 24 November, Petone
         2 pm, Petone Library, 7 Britannia Street, Petone
 
Tuesday 26 November, Wellington
          5.30 pm, Friends of Turnbull Library, Ground Floor, National Library of New Zealand, cnr Aitken & Molesworth Streets, Wellington
 
Wednesday 27 November, Wellington
          6 pm, Wellington Branch of Society of Genealogists, Connolly Hall, Guildford Terrace (off Hill Street), Wellington,($3 charge for non NZSG members)
 
Thursday 28 -Saturday 30 November, Wellington
          New Zealand Historical Association Conference, Victoria University (registered conference participants only)